A Stoic Take On Gratitude

“Don’t set your mind on things you don’t possess as if they were yours, but count the blessings you actually possess and think how much you would desire them if they weren’t already yours. But watch yourself, that you don’t value these things to the point of being troubled if you should lose them.” — Marcus Aurelius, Meditations, 7.27

Questions We Need To Ask Ourselves

Growing In Goodness - Common Sense Ethics

What sticks out to me the most from the quote above is this one sentence: “[…], but count the blessings you actually possess and think how much you would desire them if they weren’t already yours.”

Before we jump into this read, let’s take a moment to ask ourselves a few questions:

  • How often do I wish for things I don’t already possess?
  • How often do I state and feel gratitude for the things I possess?
  • How often do I state and feel gratitude for the people in my life?
  • Do I tend to count my blessings, or do I tend to count others’ blessings?
  • Am I appreciative of the life I have now?

Everyone Is Guilty of Coveting

Everybody has coveted, at some time or another, what someone else has, and most people still covet what others have on a daily. American culture has taught society to chase new things and new people continuously instead of appreciating who and what you have in the present moment.

  • Why is it challenging to appreciate the good things and people we have in our lives now?
  • Why is it that after we accumulate more things, we don’t feel any happier?
  • Why is it that we often regret not cherishing and appreciating the people in our lives until it’s too late — usually on our death beds?

As I reflect on these questions myself, I easily recognize that all of the answers to these questions are within my control. I can take action now to appreciate who and what matters most, and no, it’s not materials, which only provide more feelings of emptiness. But if materials matter most to you, this is a perfect opportunity to re-prioritize.

Stop Looking Across The Fence

Cultivating Gratitude and Integrating Mind, Body & Spirit into Therapy |  Nourish Your Mind

We always want more. Will it ever stop? For most, no. Many will continue desiring what their neighbor, their favorite celebrity has, or the person on social media showing off their life has. Many will continue aspiring for gigantic lifestyles they can show off on their Instagram pages for likes. Many will continue the empty pursuit of material possessions only until they realize it’s a game that has zero winners. Many will continue to hoard things until they realize how things only add inconvenience and imprison their owners financially and physically.

But for you, all of this can change if you embrace intentional living.

Question Your Desires

I don’t need a gigantic house if there are only 2–4 humans in my family. I don’t need to upgrade my car every 2 years — especially if I’m a remote worker. I don’t need to overhaul my closet every year completely. I don’t need to display my life on social media in exchange for anticipated external validation. I don’t need to buy something every day. I don’t need much at all. I only need what I need; the rest is icing on the cake that I can intentionally obtain.

Before You Acquire, Inquire

  • Will the attainment of this desire add genuine joy to my life?
  • Will the attainment of this desire add any sort of stress (i.e., financial, mental, physical, emotional, or spiritual) to my life?
  • Do I genuinely want this, or do I merely think I want this?

Take An Inventory Of Your Things

Look around you. What do you not need? What do you no longer use? What can you give away today that could bless something else that has less than you?

Fight the urge to gather and hoard — The Daily Stoic, p149

Stay in the habit of taking an inventory of your things to ensure you aren’t on the path of hoarding and holding onto things that serve no active purpose for your life. The things that are sitting around unused are indirectly taking up space in our lives.

Gratitude & Generosity Always Win

I’ve noticed that the more grateful I am and the more generous I am, the more the universe returns to me. Find opportunities to give and be grateful in small, medium, and big ways daily. Living a generous life filled with gratitude will ensure you experience an intentional life, a magnificent life, and a full life.

It always feels better to give than to consume.

Leave a comment